Older but not ancient

old_tripod

Looking for a job is much harder today than it was before. There’s so many young hopefuls who wants to become something. But without experience, its more difficult to get anything. But how to get experience if no one wants to give you a chance. Even if you do have experience, it’s still difficult. You’re either too young or too old. I think employers have too many high expectations on how an employee should be but in a way its quite understanding. No one really wants to take risks to hire people. If its money issues or something else. But if no one wants to give you a job no matter what education you have, how will this society succeed?!

When I look online where these 19 something are searching for internships and they have all these skills, I feel ancient. These are the hopefuls I mentioned at the start of this post. They all say they’re eager to learn and so on. But what about people with experience, aren’t they eager to learn? Just because they’re in certain age doesn’t meant they can’t learn something new. They’re older, not ancient.
I have never had a paid job. My career has never really started. But there are older people who got success at an older age. There are for example many actors who got they’re big break at 40 something. Not everybody has to have a career at 20. Besides it’s not old, it’s experienced. Some look at age too closely. That’s doesn’t make a person. It’s how they behave. There are older people who act like teenagers but there’s also teens who act like they’re older. It’s how you feel inside and not when you’re born. A person can have a lot of experience but when an employer sees the applicants age, they put their files in the bottom of the pile. It shouldn’t happen but it does.

Age discrimination is too common these days. I haven’t experienced it personally but I wouldn’t be surprised if it had happened. My mother used to say when you turn 40, it’s harder to get a job and she must be right. Revealing my age here, I am getting close to that age and it does worry me. I’m worried that I won’t get any luck even with this web designer education  I’m going through. What I know now about web design, I’m still a novice. There are a lot of people who can do more than I do and they’re younger. It’s a lot about practise. They more you do it, more it becomes natural. It has nothing to do with age. It might take longer to learn than for a younger person. But an older person have more life experience and that should count for something.

So say no to age discrimination. We’re older and not ancient, there’s a difference.

Tallenna

Tallenna

Tallenna

Author: Mia

My primary blog 'In my world' is about things I like. Not so much personal stuff. I'm a private person and I want to keep it that way. Also visit my 'MiaPhotolio', 'My Web Design Haven" and 'Fan Fiction Haven'

I know you're there. Why do you linger in the shadows?

