When social media gets annoying

This post will contain some strong language!

|

|

|

|

Almost everybody uses social media today. Especially younger people. They walk around with their smart phones and play with them. It seems they can’t go anywhere without it. I’ve seen people walking on the street with their phones in their hands. They hardly look where they’re going. What’s even more dangerous is those that cycle with their mobiles in their faces. One day they will get to an accident. Maybe they have a death wish.

Since when has social media become so important? They can’t even go without internet when they go outside. People are more concerned about their mobiles than their own safety. The only time I’m on the internet is on the computer. I don’t need to be online all the time. That’s one of the reasons why I don’t own a smart phone. The other reason is the small screens on them. I don’t understand why people even bother using the internet on them. Even typing is a pain. Sometimes I use my dad’s phone and it just irritates me. It’s much easier to surf on the net with a computer.

I’ve used Twitter for 6 years and have only posted 5000 tweets during that time. Facebook since 2007. For me social media is a lonely business. You never know if anybody really cares. People post a lot of nonsense. I really don’t want to know everything they do. I only post when I have something to say. Not to fill my status list. I mainly use Facebook for news and from time to time take part in conversations on fan sites.

Then there are those that brag about how many followers they got. Especially on Tumblr. I don’t give a damn about how many you got. That doesn’t make you any special. Most of them are probably not even interested what you post. Who wants to know when you went to the toilet or what you ate for breakfast. They just there because they know how to click on a Follow button. No one cares if you got 10 000 or more followers. Didn’t your parents love you enough so you have to substitute them with people you’ll never know personally? That’s all we need, another wannabe celebrity, you attention whore. It would be different if your actually did something special to earn that celebrity status. With posting on social media is not a way to become one. You get more attention if you ran naked in front of a big crowd. Also called ‘Glory hunters’. Only want to become famous because it’s so “glamorous” A pain in the ass more like it. Even a less educated person should understand being famous is not a walk in the park.

These days it’s more of rule then an exception that actors and such join the social media. It’s a good way of informative fans of what they’re doing professionally. But they are not like these nobodies (ordinary people) that post everything they do. Not everyone even tweet or use Facebook everyday. That’s something ordinary people should take an example off. You shouldn’t even post where you’re travelling to. But people still do it. Maybe it’s just so easy to use social media to tell people where they’re going. That’s also bragging. “Look where I am going. Ha haa and you have to stay at home. Jealous much”- kind of attitude. Of course we’re jealous but no need to rub it in you selfish jackass.

Luckily not everyone use social media and people who do should respect that. You can keep in touch with people without having to be online. If everybody had Facebook or Twitter, no one would know how to talk to people face to face. Human contact is more important than electronic devices in your face. Now get out there and discover the world. Like Gandalf said

“The world is not in your books and maps, it’s out there”

In this case, the internet. Gadgets come and go but a human touch is forever.

Author: Mia

My primary blog 'In my world' is about things I like. Not so much personal stuff. I'm a private person and I want to keep it that way. Also visit my 'MiaPhotolio', 'My Web Design Haven" and 'Fan Fiction Haven'

2 thoughts on “When social media gets annoying”

  1. A very true and honest post! Mankind had definitely taken advantage of technology a little too much. We need to reflect on how much we use our devices and how often we go on social media because some of us have reached the limit! Although it can be bad, I believe that we can find a way to use our devices and social accounts wisely and find ways to use it for good 🙂

    Like

    1. I agree. Social media etc. should be a useful tool.Not for entertainment only.As long as it doesn’t take over someone life completely. Human connections should not be forgotten.

      Liked by 1 person

I know you're there. Why do you linger in the shadows?

