Five things I’ve done

When I started to think about things I have done, I realised, I haven’t done much. I’ve always been sensitive and careful. Maybe a little wimpy too. I’m not a risk taker. I think long and hard before I do anything. Being an introvert also plays a big part. It might not be much but I’ve done things other people might not have. Have a look.

    • Learned an instrument

When I was in elementary school, I played the recorder. But I didn’t like to practise because I found it difficult. It’s only when I become an adult I’ve started to learn it. Learning easy sheet music all by myself which I’m really proud of.
I can also play the piano/synthesiser but with one hand only. I took a few classes when I was 6 but I didn’t like it. My parents bought me a synthesiser for Christmas but it was just a phase. I still have it at home but I haven’t played it for years.

  • Performed on stage

In school plays. We had Christmas plays and spring plays. From 7th grade to 9th grade I went to a smaller class. One of my class mates had a father who worked in the theater so we got some professional help about how to plan a play. One year we had a musical and another year we had cabaret. I always had small parts but that was all I wanted at the time.

  • Been in the newspaper

When I was 6, I appeared in a photo in our local newspaper. I was in the background. The story was about 2 girls jumping on a trampoline. I just happened to stand there. The girls were friends of my sister. As it happened, one of the girls had the same name as me.
Another time, I had a drawing published in the same newspaper. It was about what we’ve done on the summer holiday.

  • Got photos published

I was an intern in the same newspaper as I mentioned above. It’s one of Finland’s oldest newspapers. It was only for 2 weeks but at least 3 of my photos were published in it.

  • Made a movie

The first time I had experience about making a movie was in 6th grade. We had a substitute teacher who worked in the theater. It was about a class being on a school trip and one of the students were murdered. We we filmed it outside on an island outside the city. I don’t think it never got finished but it was kind of fun to do it.
I studied script writing in 2003 and there we filmed scenes we had written. We also learned to edit and adding sound effects. It was useful in the future.
In 2010 when I studied graphic design, we made a short film. We did everything from scratch. From the script to editing. Some people don’t understand how much work there is to make a movie. We only did a short one but even that was hard work. Fun but hard work. It was great experience. That’s something everyone should do at least once in their life.

So there you have it. It’s not much but I’ve loved it.

Notes: This is the part of this week’s WWC. I didn’t kill my darlings that much. Just a few sentences. If I did, the whole content wouldn’t had made any sense.

Author: Mia

My primary blog 'In my world' is about things I like. Not so much personal stuff. I'm a private person and I want to keep it that way. Also visit my 'MiaPhotolio', 'My Web Design Haven" and 'Fan Fiction Haven'

I know you're there. Why do you linger in the shadows?

