Writing fiction is the hardest thing

Especially when it comes to fan fiction. I don’t know how people do it. Continuing a TV series or making up another story about the characters. It’s really difficult. That’s one of the reasons I only write fiction about real people. I did try to write one based on The Hobbit but after that I haven’t even tried. Writing about real people might be weird for some. But I don’t use their personality, just the name. Since I mostly write to myself I don’t really think it might hurt anybody’s privacy and such. Even if I did post online, they would never know. Internet is a big place. My little fictions are not that good that it would get that much attention.

My subject ideas comes from movies or TV. I also get inspirations from actors I like. It just depends who I fancy at the time. Some give me more ideas than others. But what I write about is not the subject in this post.

I’ve always had problems with details. Even in my own language. It’s all in my head but writing them down is the most difficult part. I can never find the right words. If someone tells me to describe a place, I can’t do it. I just don’t like writing in detail. It’s boring and I’m also lazy to do it. My mind is faster than my writing. I could never be a writer. I have no patience whatsoever. Trying to describe your thoughts to others is difficult. I have a story in my head but when I try to write them down, they don’t turn that good. It’s all in my head. If someone read them, they probably wouldn’t see it the way I do. That’s one of the reasons I write for myself. Also because sometimes I write things that I would be too shy to post in public. It’s not that I’m ashamed of my thoughts. On the contrary but people might not understand.

Sometimes when I start with a story, ideas come flooding. When I’m on a roll, I could stay up for hours writing them down. You can’t lose the threads (or the train of thought) to a story just because it’s late at night and you need your beauty sleep. I guess that’s  every writers blessing and a curse. Then there are days when nothing comes out. Then I just forget the story for a while. Ideas come when they do. Sometimes ideas come while I write. I’ve thought about an idea how it goes but then the story changes and it becomes totally a different one.
I usually write with a pencil on a paper first. Lots of it. I’ve noticed when writing on the computer, I don’t get the same writing flow. Writing them by hand first does have it disadvantages though. There’s a lot of papers everywhere (I re-use old one’s so no new papers there) and a lot to transcribe. It also produces a lot of pencil stubs. When you write a lot, your hand gets sore as well.

Every writer (pro or not) has different ways to work. So if there’s any fiction or any other writers out there. What is your process when you write? Do you still use a pencil and paper or has modern technology taken over? Do you plan ahead or do you get ideas while you write like I do? Any tips you can give me to become a better fiction writer?
If you write fan fiction. Do you rewrite your stories or let them be the way you written them the first time? Where do get your inspiration from? How do you actually get the ideas when you continue from a TV series or a movie? Because I can never figure out how people do it, like I mentioned in the beginning of this post. What’s the secret, if any?

Would be interesting to know how other writers work. Just leave a message below. Or if you have something longer to write. Try the Suggestion Box

Thank you for reading.

 

Author: Mia

My primary blog 'In my world' is about things I like. Not so much personal stuff. I'm a private person and I want to keep it that way. Also visit my 'MiaPhotolio', 'My Web Design Haven" and 'Fan Fiction Haven'

1 thought on “Writing fiction is the hardest thing”

I know you're there. Why do you linger in the shadows?

