Material girl

Material things doesn’t make you happy but material things are useful. Like my most-prized possession.

In 2008 I bought a Canon EOS D40 SLR camera. I wanted to take better pictures. I used to have a film camera but that broke down. It was more of an amateur camera anyway. A camera you take on holidays and stuff. I wanted a camera where I could take more professional photos. Even though I’ve had that camera this long, I still don’t really know how to take photos with it. Sometimes I lose hope that I will never get any good. Maybe the camera is still too difficult to handle. I try to take picture of movement but it always seem the become blurry. It irritates me that I still can’t do it. I just lose hope I want to give up.
I was on a cruise and there were this dance show. I got quite depressed I couldn’t take any decent photos of it. I thought, I better just shoot things that stay still. I was so disappointed. I’ve got this love/hate relationship with my camera. My brain tells me, ‘you can’t do anything with your camera. Just give up’ No matter what settings I try, nothing is working. No matter how many photography courses or advice online I find, it doesn’t seem to stay in my brain. I don’t want to take amateur photos to fill my photo archive. I want to take photos I can sell. That’s one of the reasons I applied to Helsinki Design School. To learn from people who knows about photography and the business itself. Learn from the best. I hope to get more analysed feedback and to learn new things.

My other most-prized possession is my bike. I bought that with my own money. I cycled since I was 3 so I’ve had a few bikes. This one was the first that I could call my own. You find it in this photo. I love cycling. Feeling the wind in my hair. It’s my convertible. Peddling really fast and then just enjoy the ride. I never drive in the winter but when spring arrives I take a bike ride somewhere. As the summer goes by I take longer trips. Since I don’t have a driver’s license, my bike is the only transportation I have. I’ve had a few accidents with it but it has never been serious. With a bike you can go almost anywhere. It’s also much faster than with a car. It’s good exercise as well.

The 3rd is my lap top. I planned for years to buy one. I’ve occupied my parents PC so it was a relief for them that I bought a lap top. Well, it’s actually my dad that bought it. But it’s still mine. I’ve had it almost 3 years. It feels like I’ve only got it a year or so. How time flies. People usually take their lap tops with them but I don’t. I’ve only used the battery a few times. I don’t even know where I put it. I don’t want to be too attached to gadgets. Like some people do. My lap top has Photoshop where I edit my photos. I have Windows 7. That’s much better than Windows 8 that looks like a mobile solution. It’s a computer and not an iPhone for crying out loud. My lap top is also the one where I write this blog.

So my most-prized possession are material things. Not all material things are bad. It just depends what you used them for.

Author: Mia

My primary blog 'In my world' is about things I like. Not so much personal stuff. I'm a private person and I want to keep it that way. Also visit my 'MiaPhotolio', 'My Web Design Haven" and 'Fan Fiction Haven'

1 thought on “Material girl”

I know you're there. Why do you linger in the shadows?

